Posted in Seek Peace and Pursue it

Deciding to Have a Good Day

In the span of 10 minutes, I found the contents of the recycle bin all over the lawn, my car door handle broke off, and I drove over my $100 pedometer on my way to work.  I sighed, then smiled and said:

I am not going to get upset.

These are just things.

I am going to not let this ruin my day.

I am going to have a good day.

And I did.

When I got home from work, my husband gave me a hug and said, “I’m sorry you had such a bad day.”  I looked at him in surprise, I was thinking:

Why does he think I had a bad day?  I had a good one and got a lot done. 

Oh yeah – I forgot what happened this morning.

I said, “I didn’t have a bad day, before I even left the subdivision I decided that it was going to be a good day.  I was going to remain in peace, and I did.”

A few years ago, I would have been hopping mad and I probably would have blamed it all on my husband (love you honey).  Instead it was:

I know he didn’t do this on purpose, the recycle was only sitting on the curb for less than an hour.  Since my husband is holding the baby, I will surprise him by cleaning up the mess before it ends up all over the neighborhood.  

Oh well, it’s just a thing, the car can get fixed.  It’s not like anyone knew it was going to break and it’s not like it will bankrupt us.  Good thing our schedules this week allow us to easily get by with just one car.

Just like that, I choose PEACE.  I choose not to be mad.  I choose not to invite strife into my marriage.

Peace is powerful.  It has the power to calm the storm inside.  It has the power to stop inconveniences and accidents from ruining your day.  It allows you to smile and say, “it’s going to take more than that to rattle me.”

Peace is a choice.  We don’t always get to choose what happens to us.  But we do get to choose how we will react to those circumstances. We can choose peace.

I choose PEACE.

“Seek peace and pursue it” Psalm 34:14b

7 thoughts on “Deciding to Have a Good Day

  1. I think this is a GREAT example of the adage: you can’t control what happens to you, but you can control how you react. Good job staying strong; I think I would have caved after that pedometer!

    1. I wanted to, I just got it for Christmas! But the more I walk in peace, the more I learn that it’s just not worth getting upset over something you cannot change! I DO have to remind myself of that truth (thus the sidebar reminders to myself), but someday I am hoping it will come naturally. A girl can hope 🙂

    1. I am not sure if it flipped off my pants when I was picking up trash, or when I was trying to push the car door handle back in (I completely stripped it – $230 later it is now fixed). I had to take my husband’s car, but the trash cans were in the driveway behind his car, so I had to do some maneuvering. Crunch.

  2. Michelle, I don’t know you very well, but I am inspired by your entries. You have challenged me to decide for peace and not let the externals rock me. Very timely for me. Thanks for your honest insights.

    1. Thanks! Sometimes I have to repeat it through clutched teeth (like today, driving behind a smelly, slow car that did not understand round-a-bouts). But by the grace of God, day by day, it gets better.

Leave a comment