Posted in Seek Peace and Pursue it

My Weapon is a Melody

I have had the song “Raise a Hallelujah” by Bethel on repeat for several months now. There are five words of the song that I found myself musing over, “My weapon is a melody.”

A song as a weapon? What does that mean?

As I pondered it, I realized that the times that I most felt the Holy Spirit, felt close to God – they almost always involved music. Whether singing in a formal worship time, in my car, or just singing the songs that I have for Him in my heart – music was front and center.

“An idea began to form. The idea that there was something special about music I had missed. Something special about music that helps us worship. Something special about making a joy-filled noise to the Maker. Unlike any other expression. Unlike any other approach.”

Awakening Pure Worship: Cultivating a Closer Friendship with God, by Jeff Deyo, kindle edition, location 476.

Maybe there’s more to this music thing than just a nice song.

I don’t like to think of life as being a battle against the evil one. I mean, I’ve been on a peace journey for 10 years now – I focus on peace, I don’t want to think of war or weapons.

However, the truth is that we are in a daily battle. “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms” (Ephesians 6:12).

One of the tools that God gave us to defeat the evil one is a melody.

So you better believe “I’m gonna sing in the middle of a storm, louder and louder, you’re gonna hear my praises roar, up from the ashes, hope will arise, death is defeated, the King is alive. I raise a Hallelujah – in the presence of my enemies. I raise a Hallelujah – louder than the unbelief. I raise a Hallelujah – my weapon is a melody. I raise a Hallelujah – heaven comes to fight for me!”

If you haven’t heard the song, check it out. It also has a miraculous backstory, which alone makes it worth listening to. Find it here: https://bethelmusic.com/videos/raise-a-hallelujah

“Seek peace and pursue it.”
Psalm 34:14b

Leave a comment