Posted in Parenting, Power of Words

The Power of Words

“I’m a smart girl!  I can figure it out!”  My (almost) 4 year old daughter proudly exclaimed over and over, as she ran up and down the sidewalk.  We had been out for a stroll, and a parked car blocked our path.  “Oh no Mommy, what will we do?” she asked.

I wanted to tell her “you are so silly”, or “don’t be so dumb – go around it!”  Instead I said with complete confidence:

“You are a smart girl and I know you can figure it out.”

The smile that followed was pure joy.  Off she went, running, repeating the words over and over.

When I heard her, I paused to reflect on the POWER OF WORDS.  How many things will she learn to do because she believes she is smart and is able to figure it out?

We as mothers, wives, daughters, and friends have the power to build up or tear down those around us.  Death and life are in the power of the tongue (Prov. 18: 21a); therefore, encourage one another and build one another up (1 Thess. 5:11a).

I still see her smiling, shouting “I am a smart girl!  I can figure it out!”  A good mommy moment.

“Seek peace and pursue it” Psalm 34:14b

Leave a comment